FREEZING & OVERHEATING

BISHOP DAVID CHILLINGWORTH’S WebLog “froze” for a spell this week. Lucky him, I’ve been thinking, as the temperature in my study soared to 35 degrees this afternoon … even whilst I was cheered that the Bishop’s “Frozenweb geeks” have got him up and running again. I didn’t fare so well. My entire (19 month old) computer expired in the heat about the same time as Bishop David’s froze. And it never breathed again. So there’s been a warm (hot-would-be-nearer-the-truth) welcome to a rather super HP Pavilion with super-duper widescreen. I’ve taken the precaution of blowing a 16” fan in its direction whenever it’s in action. The gentle breeze has worked wonders for me, too.

I was at the Tantur Ecumenical Institute in Jerusalem for a month the last time I knew temperatures like these. I walked into Bethlehem to buy a morning paper and came back (all-innocent-mad-dog-of-an-Englishman) with hands enlarged like a comedian’s washing-up gloves. Must have been a snake, I ventured, whilst preparing to breathe my last. And then I felt the cool breeze of a receptionist’s desk fan and the calming psalm: “It’s into a cold shower for you, old son.” Dehydration! I lived to tell the tale. Would that a cooling breeze, or maybe a cold shower, could come to the aid of the Lands of the East. Dear Lord, teach us how to pray for, how to work for peace in every area of our lives …