OPEN DOORS

I’VE ENJOYED SOME GREAT CONVERSATION about “Mission”, in three different places, in 48 hours. I warmly thank those who’ve engaged with me, robustly and honestly. And I thank God for daily revealing people whose vision, whose dream if you like, is for ever more widely OPEN doors in our houses … the “houses of the Church” together with our ordinary, everyday homes and lives: doors in the literal, physical sense, every bit as much as the doors of our hearts.

Open doors invite and create the possibility of change. Open doors invite us to engage more fully with “aliens” and strangers as well as with friends. Open doors invite all of us to “repent” … to “turn around” … to enter a new environment … to dream new and expansive dreams of love and respect for one and for all … to dream of one people of every race, nation and creed under the sun … and all of us under God. Open doors are commonplace in the dream of St John …

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘See, the home of God is among mortals. He will dwell with them; they will be his peoples, and God himself will be with them; he will wipe every tear from their eyes.

Revelation 21.1-6

What do I think Christian mission is about? The same as humanity’s mission: open doors … open access to God, in the here and in the hereafter: for LIFE …