RE-MEMBERING … (how dry they were)

RE-MEMBER ME: the 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th JULY will be dates long remembered in the collective memory of St Michael & All Angels Bramhall. There’ll be a coming together on those dates of many elements of God’s wonderful creation … women and men, children, and art, and music, and flowers, and prayer, and faith, and hope, and love, and re-membering. To celebrate 100 years. To celebrate Life.

Re-member me, said Jesus:  co-create with me. Put flesh on the bare bones of life. Think about where you came from and about where you’re headed.

From the prophesy of Ezekiel 37.1-6

The hand of the LORD came upon me, and he led me out in the spirit of the LORD and set me in the centre of the plain, which was now filled with bones. He made me walk among them in every direction so that I saw how many they were on the surface of the plain. How dry they were! He asked me: Son of man, can these bones come to life? “Lord GOD,” I answered, “you alone know that.” Then he said to me: Prophesy over these bones, and say to them: Dry bones, hear the word of the LORD! Thus says the Lord GOD to these bones: See! I will bring spirit into you, that you may come to life. I will put sinews upon you, make flesh grow over you, cover you with skin, and put spirit in you so that you may come to life and know that I am the LORD.

GOD, the fount and source of all our lives doesn’t rest with having created only the bare bones of things. GOD clothes bare bones with liveable-in, touchable, comfortable, beautiful, sensual, sensitive, feeling, vulnerable, hopeful, LIVING bodies. GOD breathes:

‘Sleepers wake’ (the watch-cry pealeth!). Come alive. Stand up. Look around you. Don’t lie down, dry and hopeless in the “plain”. Look at the birds of the air! Rise up like eagles. Dream dreams. Run and never tire. Love and love some more. Hand on today’s gift to another and you’ll be given the cup filled to overflowing in return. Lay down your life—and you’ll be raised to life. Be hospitable, be open to all. Have faith, have hope, have love. Therein you will find a Holy Communion which will feed you, and bless you, and fill you—and just when you think the party’s over the water will be turned into wine. A hundred years old you say? Ah. But the night is yet young and life is a wedding feast. Re member me. I love you.

This is our God. And the night is yet young. So we celebrate!

Jump for Joy by bingbing on Flickr