DELIGHTING IN A GREY & RAINY DAY …

I’VE NEVER LOST the sense of delight that dawns on a grey and rainy Lakeland day-off in mid-winter. Just my kind of day. Perfect excuse to light our log-burning stove and turn to a day’s undisturbed reading. Ordinarily I’ve almost always got more ‘on the go’ than I’ve time to read. And I’m warmed, delighted and invigorated when time stretches out, long and lazy, as it did today. Time for the contemplation, prayer and reflection that I know I speak about sometimes more than I practice. The rain has been filling up Ullswater in undeterred torrents and – coupled with the warm scent of burning wood and a ham roasting in the oven – has contributed to contentment and satisfaction in reading Benjamin and Rosamund Zanders’ marvellous The Art of Possibility

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “DELIGHTING IN A GREY & RAINY DAY …

Comments are closed.