NOLI ME TANGERE

NOLI ME TANGERE - Alonso Cano, circa 1610, Granada, Spain

NOLI ME TANGERE. Jesus said to her, “Do not hold me, for I have not yet ascended to my Father, to my God and your God.” Mary Magdalene went and said to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord”; and she told them that he had said these things to her.

Noli me tangere. Do not cling. Do not hold me, for I have not yet ascended to my Father …

Of all the converse of the world this must surely be dearest, tenderest and best. Note how the Beloved leaves the door open for his Beloved in the future. Do not cling now, because … but I will ascend. And I will ascend to the Father who is both yours and mine, “my God, and your God” – so you will ascend, too. And there we will embrace, and there we may cling, and there, in gloriously glad company, we may sing the Song of Songs: (2.12)

the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land.

One thought on “NOLI ME TANGERE

  1. Pingback: Easter waiting ii – Maggi Dawn

Comments are closed.