PSALM 122

A RATHER GREY EVENING so I turned to something glorious and uplifting. And it never fails, whatever the context. I shall remember my first “ascent” to Mount Zion in Jerusalem for as long as I live, and a recitation of the 122nd Psalm is life-giving, on a grey day, on any day. To live and work, or to pray, or to long – for the peace of the “vision of peace” is a blessed task in which every man, woman and child in every nation on earth can share. How I love to hear the psalm sung like this here in England … and any song or psalm for the peace of the world, sung anywhere in the world. My prayer tonight is that all of us, all humankind, may ascend to the paths of peace.

One thought on “PSALM 122

  1. I’ve only been to Mount Zion in song, but I can hear in your words how much it blessed you. Since Chrst lives in each one of us, if we could do as the Psalmist said in the first verse of Psalm 122 “I rejoiced with those who said to me,
    “Let us go to the house of the LORD.” and truly seek to find Him in each person we meet, we would surely find Him there and thus that peace which passes all understanding will have begun!

    Blessings to you from another Anglican!

Comments are closed.