WHEN MY FEET ARE SORE

DON’T KNOW HOW I MISSED IT because Terence Handley MacMath’s back page interview is usually the first thing I read in Church Times and I’ve only just today got around to that of the 3rd June, a wonderful session with Pádraig Ó Tuama, peace-worker and poet. The whole back page is worth hunting through the newspaper pile to recover, but I – especially – just loved this:

Language also inspires me. I’m from Cork, and grew up in a family where the Irish language was very important. A friend from Dingle, in West Kerry, told me that, in the dialect spoken in that region, instead of saying “muinín thú” for “I trust you,” the dialect there uses the phrase “mo sheasamh ort, lá na choise tinne”: “You are the place of my standing, on the day when my feet are sore.” I remember writing a poem on the back of a torn envelope after that conversation.

I bet he wrote a poem! “You are the place of my standing, on the day when my feet are sore.” Isn’t that just exactly the vocation of the Body of Christ now on earth? What a glorious, glorious image!

www.irishpeacecentres.org