2 YEARS RESIDENTIAL

PAUL DEAKIN, ordinand of this parish, has just been formally accepted for 2 year’s residential training at the College of the Resurrection, Mirfield. Lucky fellow. Am I jealous? Absolutely. I headed down (in the sense of “from the North”, that is!) to Salisbury & Wells Theological College back in 1979, loved it, was ordained in 1982, and I’m beginning to think it’s time I had a sabbatical – though “2 year’s residential” sounds a bit like something one does at Her Majesty’s Pleasure, eh? Back to the point though, for a minute. My years in Salisbury set me up for ministry in 7 very different settings. The reading, the conversation, the prayer, the abiding friendships, Salisbury Cathedral, Easter vigils, choral singing, laughter, tears, romance … no sabbatical could ever re-live it, which reminds me of something else learned in those days: “make the most of every opportunity. We may never pass this way again”.