THE REAL PERSON

ONE OF OUR STUDY GROUPS has been reading The Raft Is Not The Shore – Conversations Toward A Buddhist-Christian Awareness – and I’m going to hear about their findings and reflections this evening. The book’s title alone provides ocean’s-worth of material for meditation and contemplation! By all accounts I’ve heard to date the group has been much taken with both the book and the notion of this kind of conversation – in this case between the Jesuit Priest Daniel Berrigan and Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh. That heartens me immensely. I’m confident that Jesus of Nazareth would value encounter with both men.

I think that my contribution to the building of community life is to say, do not judge each other too easily, too quickly, in terms of ideology, of point of view, strategies, things like that. Try to see the real person, the one with whom you live. You might discover aspects that will enrich you. It’s like a tree that can shelter you.

Communities fail because they lack imagination and spiritual contact and soul and a sense of others and staying power and courage to move together and to live together.

Thich Nhat Hanh – The Raft Is Not The Shore, page 138

One thought on “THE REAL PERSON

  1. We are all in the same boat and we are all one. It’s about time we realized it, and we are. What you share presages the outer unfoldment of inner awareness.

    I’d like to connect with you Simon. I know we would enjoy each other. Time possibilities, Time zone and Skype or phone?

Comments are closed.