FROM THE FIRESIDE

TODAY IS ONE OF THOSE looked-forward-to-days when, after a brief amble round Penrith – to be able to make some pretence at having taking in some fresh air (decidedly chilly fresh air compared to that of the last few days) – one feels able to take root in an armchair at the fireside with a pile of books and a cup of coffee at the side-table. This is what winter days are for. Last evening I heard tell of one Bear Grylls who is probably even now chancing his arm in some dangerous wilderness experience. All good fortune to him. But me? – I’m going to chance my arm at staying awake until the end of my next chapter and am grateful that I’m not a betting man 🙂

2 thoughts on “FROM THE FIRESIDE

  1. I took lunch out at an old friend of yours in Irby on the Wirral, then we had a lovely bracing blustery walk on Thurstaston Common !

  2. I can picture the view across to the Welsh hills. I used to dream of idyllic summer days in Nefyn on that Common!

Comments are closed.