ST PAUL’S ENGLAND

ST PAUL’S MACCLESFIELD – where I was Vicar from 1990-1996 – has been an enormous influence in my life since January 1971 when much loved parish priest Kenneth Burghall left my home church in Claughton to become Vicar there, and I became a frequent visitor until my own Collation as Vicar of the parish nineteen years later.

I always thought of St Paul’s (set upon a hill) as “my cathedral church” and as I’ve prayed through the years, and always on the Feast of the Conversion of St Paul, I smile as I recall the delightful story of Macclesfield St Paul’s Church choir visiting Interlaken in Switzerland where they’d been invited to sing Evensong. A large and bright poster advertised their advent. Evensong was to be sung by the Choir of St Paul’s England. Someone else thought of Macc St Paul’s as a cathedral too! May the household of faith at St Paul’s Macclesfield (and at St Paul’s England) continue to bless and to be blessed.

One thought on “ST PAUL’S ENGLAND

  1. Pingback: JEAN | Simon Marsh

Comments are closed.