SEEING

RIA GANDHI in Mumbai has an eye for detail and a gift for story-telling. Her The Extra and the Ordinary brings her hometown alive for her and for readers who’ve never been there. Among the great joys of “blogging friendships” are the daily encounters one has with people all over the world, all over our “global village”, who SEE things, deeply, and care about what they see. Ria brought to my own attention the film I’m posting here. Ria’s writing and this little film will, I think, change the way I go about today 🙂

5 thoughts on “SEEING

  1. I have no words to express how I feel. I am so touched by this gesture of yours. I am so thrilled to know my post has touched you so deeply 🙂 Thank you so so sooo soooooo much!!!! Would be wrong to say I love you? 😀

  2. Ah, but you do have the words to express how you feel, and you do so with eloquence and grace …

    “I love the parrot with his humorous anecdotes, swishing his broken green tail in the customers’ face as the tiny squirrel darts its way through the mounds of dried coconuts to its master” …

    So, is “I love you” wrong? Not at all. It’s another expression of a special way of seeing, and a special way of being. It’s the way of giving and receiving. It’s a form of blessing that we are, every one of us in this world, to bestow upon one another. I love to imagine the earth ringed around and held in her place by innumerable connections of love. My favourite New Testament verse is from 1 John 4.16:

    “God is love, and those who live in love live in God, and God lives in them.”

    That’s all of us, Ria. Thank you. I am honoured x

  3. Lovely, all. Thank you both for the film. I have to say, however, that people who see, who are so filled with seeing, with awareness, can never rest. It’s exhausting. Don’t you think?

  4. Yes indeed, Cynthia. What a thoughtful response. Yes, seeing can be an exhausting occupation. Times of stillness and reflective quietness are entirely necessary too, aren’t they? Resting at peace in good company (even in the ether!) Day and night. Awake and asleep.

Comments are closed.