DES COLORES

FIRING ON ALL CYLINDERS at a rate of knots for weeks and weeks I’ve been fighting a chest infection, and have arrived for a 10 day summer holiday flat out exhausted and coughing like a good ‘un. “That’ll learn you mi lad” – Annie Sanderson would have told me, many years ago. And it has. Bed, books, paints and an even temperature – and I don’t know how many hours flat out asleep – and I’m beginning to feel vaguely human again though my chest is as tight as a drum.

Once again I find I’m revelling in the spectrum that “time-out” brings to the fore. We’re often living life at such speed that we begin to recognise only the odd bit of colour here and there and our thought patterns run the danger of being reduced to the purely black and white. The Cursillo movement, founded in Spain, sometimes uses the greeting Des Colores! – may the colours of life be present for you. It’s a good greeting and a necessary recollection.

6 thoughts on “DES COLORES

  1. Hope you soon feel better, Simon, and have a relaxing and lovely holiday. And thank you for all your writing and pictures, which always encourage and uplift from afar. x

  2. Isn’t it sad that we sometimes have to be sick to give ourselves ‘permission’ to slow down and take a breath? Hope you’re feeling much better very soon, Simon!!

  3. Thank you very much indeed Mary, for your encouragement and friendship. I hope you’re having a good summer x

  4. Couldn’t agree more! But still, taking a breather when we can becomes all the more enjoyable! Thank you so much 🙂

  5. Sitting in our garden this beautiful day makes me realise how beneficial it can be, although I keep noticing all the weeding that needs to be done. ( a bit like being the vicar, I guess ! )

Comments are closed.