TODAY …

click on individual images to enlarge | slides here

I FIRST SPENT a lot of time in company with Josefina de Vasconcellos‘ Jesus 35 years ago as I was in the early stages of preparing for the priesthood. He gazes out across green fields towards Lakeland Fells and Ullswater, one of the most beautiful lakes in England’s glorious Lake District. He’s still the Jesus I know best, the one who gazes with compassion upon a Creation He’s willing to give absolutely everything to, a giving, a compassion and a perpetual gazing that encompasses every child, woman and man upon earth. This Jesus doesn’t belong to Christians. This Jesus belongs to everyone and everyone belongs to Him. This Jesus is an image of the God who is high above, beyond and deep, within and beneath every single one of the world’s religious traditions. This Jesus says to all humankind “Today you will be with me in Paradise”. This Jesus inspired Teresa of Avila’s

Christ has no body now on earth but ours;
no feet with which to run to proclaim good news;
no hands with which to reach out
to touch, to heal and to bless;
no ears with which to hear the cries of the poor;
no eyes with which to look out with compassion
upon this world, but ours.

Bodies, hands, feet, eyes and ears – to carry the watchful souls that are to stay close to their Source and eventually be at One. Compassion. The work of the anointed – of every shade and hue, of every nationality and tradition. The work of Christ now.

3 thoughts on “TODAY …

  1. This is beautiful, Simon. I love the concept of a Jesus who gazes out upon the world with compassion. I was raised with the concept of a much more vengeful God, and it * never* resonated with me…

  2. Simon, I found your link amidst the comments at http://fivereflections.wordpress.com/.
    It was your gaze that caught my eye, something ineffable in the portrait alongside your own comment.
    Your words above, unto the first slide, speak of a greater communion, one that embraces all spiritual hunger, one that says, come, all yeah who are weary and I shall give you rest. I am not a believer. But yes, I believe. The gaze of compassion in your Christ, is the gaze of the “Christ” that should rise from within all of us, whether Hindu or Orthodox, whether Muslim or Jew, whether Animist or Christian, whether Catholic or Humanist, Buddhist or Zen master, whether man or woman.
    Lovely words, Sir.

  3. Simon, I used the prayer of Teresa of Avila in my sermon at St. Francis-in-the-Wood and also in prayers at Mirfield this year. Take care, Paul.

Comments are closed.